UpdateNews & Notes
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Vadivel Ganapathy, PhD,
chair of the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry, has been included in the latest edition of the Google Scholar Database as one of the world’s most cited researchers in history.

Monish Makena, PhD, (’17, ’11)
was awarded a 2019-2020 American Association for Cancer Research Fellowship.

School of Health Professions

Julie Bruce, DPT, (’08, ’02, ’95)
was promoted to outpatient manager at University Medical Center Team Rehab in Lubbock.

Jeramy Davies, MLS, (ASCP)CM, (’11)
joined the Minneapolis VA Health Care System laboratory in Minneapolis, Minnesota, as a medical technologist.

Ericka Hendrix, PhD, MP, (ASCP) (’03)
joined the American Society for Clinical Pathology Board of Certification as a representative of the Association of Genetic Technologists Inc.

Kellen Ketchersid, MSMP, (’13)
was named director of operations for NemaLife Inc. in Lubbock, Texas.

Koy Kubala, MSMP, (’07 ’06)
has been elected to the Committee on Accreditation of Specialty in Blood Bank Technology Schools board.

San Juanita Reed, MS, CCC-SLP, (’19, ’17)
was named the 2020 Kids Developmental Clinic Therapist of the Year.

I love talking to people and really getting to know them. I feel that the body is so very interconnected that only by understanding someone as a whole, can you begin the healing process.
Thusha Nathan, MD (Fellow ’04)
Gastroenterologist, Baptist Health
School of Medicine

Asna Amin, MD, (’03)
joined Columbia Memorial Health in Hudson, New York, as a colorectal and general surgeon.

Justin Berk, MD, MPH, MBA, (’15)
has been named acting medical director for the Rhode Island Department of Corrections.

Racquel C. Bono, MD, (’83)
is now the chief health officer for Viking Cruises headquartered in Los Angeles, California. She also has been elected to PhysIQ’s advisory board.

Andrew Brenner, MD, PhD, (’03)
has been named to the Plus Therapeutics Inc. Scientific Advisory Board.

Bonnie Carter, MD, (Medicine ’01)
joined Steward Medical Group as a physician for Odessa Regional Medical Center in Odessa, Texas.

Carole Elisabeth Conser, MD, (‘05)
TTUHSC third-year clerkship director in the Department of Pediatrics, has been appointed as assistant dean of the Student Wellness and Advancement.

Cynthia Jumper, MD, (Resident ’91, ’88)
vice president of TTUHSC Governmental Relations and Managed Care, was recognized by the Texas Medical Association Medical School Section with the 2020 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award.

Maninder Kaur, MD, (Resident ’19)
joined WVU Medicine University Healthcare Physicians as a pediatrician.

Arshad M. Khanani, MD, (Resident ’08)
has been appointed to the Graybug Vision Inc. Scientific Advisory Board.

M. Saad Khan, MD, (Fellow ’18)
joined Mercy Medical Center’s medical oncology and hematology division.

Thusha Nathan, MD, (Fellow ’04)
joined Baptist Health as a gastroenterologist.

P. Hemachandra Reddy, PhD,
professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Julia Sherrill, MD, HMDC, (’08)
earned the Hospice Medical Director Certified credential by the Hospice Medical Director Certification Board.

Scott W. Shurmur, MD,
School of Medicine professor, has been named chair of the Department of Internal Medicine.

Gerad Troutman, MD, (’07)
has been appointed to Gov. Greg Abbott’s Advisory Council on Emergency Medical Services.

Surendra Varma, MD,
executive associate dean for Graduate Medical Education, has been selected by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to serve on the Health Resources and Services Administration Council on Graduate Medical Education. Gov. Gregg Abbott also selected Varma to serve on the Texas Disease Preparedness and Response Task Force.

Brooke Walterscheid,
fourth-year medical student, has been appointed as the 2020-2021 student regent for the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents.

John “Jay” Wofford, MD, (’12)
has been named North Texas (East) regional president for U.S. Dermatology Partners.

Larry Warmoth, MD, (’92)
nephrology specialist in Lubbock, Texas, retired from the military after 29 years of service.

School of Nursing

Debra Adornetto-Garcia, DNP, RN, (’13)
has been named chief nursing officer for Renown Health in Reno, Nevada.

Lisa Campbell, DNP, APHN,
Post-Master’s Doctor of Nursing Practice program director, was inducted as a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing.

Bob Dent, DNP, FACHE, FAAN, (’10)
was named the 2020 Georgia March of Dimes Nurse Administrator of the Year.

Patricia Francis-Johnson, DNP, RN, (’11, ’99)
was named one of the 2021 YWCA of Lubbock Women of Excellence.

Katherine Kleinsteuber, DNP, ARPN, (’17)
joined Pecos Valley Physicians Group in Artesia, New Mexico.

Laura Thornley, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, (’17)
has been named the chief nursing officer for Rose Medical Center in Denver, Colorado.

Sylvain Trepanier, DNP, RN, FAAN, (’11)
has been named senior vice president and chief nursing officer for Providence, an acute care hospital system based in Renton, Washington.

Jackie Ward, DNP, RN, NE-BC, (’05)
has been named chief nursing officer of Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston, Texas.

The CNO serves as a champion for our nurses and the invaluable role they play caring for the people in our communities as well as ensuring we are attracting and retaining the most skilled and compassionate nurses. I know (Sylvain Trepanier) will do both.
Amy Compton-PHillips, MD
executive vice president and chief clinical officer, Providence
School of Pharmacy

James Lee, PharmD, (’10)
was named a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.

Matthew Ries, PharmD, BCPS, (’13) and Cammy Ries, PharmD, BCPS, (’13)
were both recently certified as Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialists by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties.

Lyndsi White, PharmD, BCGP, (‘06)
joined Acadia Pharmaceuticals as a senior medical science liasion.

Friends we’ll miss

Loree Goheen Allen,
former director of Experiential Education at the School of Pharmacy, died Jan. 21, 2021.

Charles Richard Furman Baker Jr., MD,
School of Medicine professor from 1976 to 2001, died Jan. 25, 2021.

Molly Beckman,
student in the School of Health Professions Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences Doctor of Audiology Program, died Feb. 3, 2021.

Robert Carr, MD,
one of the first pediatricians to practice in Lubbock, died Sept. 19, 2020.

Welborn Boyd “W.B.” Harris, Jr.,
the first TTUHSC development officer, died Jan. 2, 2021.

Illustration of a megaphone
You Get the Last Word!
Complete this sentence: Looking back, I learned the most from Professor _______. Here’s why. Share your memories with Pulse and you may see them published in a future issue.