UpdateNews & Notes
We are fortunate to have someone of (Jack Reynolds, MD) caliber to agree to join our clinic and hospital staff and hope everyone will help us welcome him home.
  • News & Notes

    Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

    Omar Ledezma, MS, (’22) joined Eurofins as a scientist II.

  • Shreyas Gaikwad, MS, graduate student, was awarded the Syngenta Fellowship Award in Human Health Applications of New Technologies.
  • Vadivel Ganapathy, PhD, faculty member and department chair in the School of Medicine, retired in Feburary.
  • News & Notes

    School of Health Professions

    Rene Canas, DPT, (’00, ’11) named CEO of ClearSky Rehabilitation Hospital in Flower Mound, Texas.

  • Ben Shook, DPT, COMT, IAOM, (’11, ’00) launched a new website for his company, Axiom Physiotherapy, located in Austin, Texas.
  • Wadie Williams Jr., RRT, TTS, FAARC, (’10, ’07) retired from the Texas Military Department and the Texas State Guard.
  • News & Notes

    Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy

    Steve Rodriguez, PharmD, (’01) serves as a member of the Board of Independent Pharmacy Advisors at Mark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company, PBC.

  • Meredith Sigler, PharmD, (’13) named 2022 Dallas Faculty Preceptor of the year. She is a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist and an TTUHSC assistant professor for the Ambulatory Care Division and practices at the North Texas VA Medical Center.
  • News & Notes

    Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health

    Courtney Queen, PhD, assistant professor, was part of a team who received one of the eight Presidents’ Innovative Startup Awards through the Innovation Hub at Research Park. The company, Advanced Codex Solutions LLC, is a noninvasive, low-cost mobile diagnostic tool for the early detection of melanoma and skin ulcers.

  • Duke Appiah, PhD, MPH, associate professor, named 2022 Alumnus of the Year and Alumni Fellow of the Year by the University of Louisville School of Public Health and Information Sciences.
  • Ashley Sciba, MPH, BSN, RN, (’19) serves her hometown, League City, Texas, as the direcgtor of community health services at the Galveston County Health District.
  • Jillian Schley, MPH, (’22) is a reporting and monitoring specialist with Integral Care – the local mental health and intellectual and developmental disability authority for Austin, Texas.
  • News & Notes

    School of Nursing

    Michael Evans, PhD, RN, FAAN, TTUHSC School of Nursing dean, received the legacy award from the Texas Nurses Association.

  • Aaron Salinas, PM, DNP, (’21) named to the 2022 Emergency Nurses Association Connection’s 20 under 40 class for his contribution to nursing and his community.
  • Brenna Merrifield, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, (’22) joined Mansfield Cosmetic Surgery Center specializing in cosmetic medical procedures and aesthetic skin rejuvenation.
  • Aaron Salinas, DNP, MD, (’21) serves on the board for the Alliance of Nurses for Healthy Environments.
  • Whitney Owens, BSN, RN, (’22) joined BSA Hospital in Amarillo, Texas, as an oncology nurse.
  • News & Notes

    School of Medicine

    Milos Buhavac, MD, with Texas Tech Physicians of Lubbock, Surgical Critical Care team, named 2022 UMC Health System of Lubbock Attending of the Year.

  • Sue Rankin, NP, of Texas Tech Physicians Pediatrics of Amarillo, named to the Texas Nurses Association District 2 Hall of Fame.
  • Adrian Billings, MD, PhD, associate professor, received Clinician of the Year by the Association of Clinicians for the Underserved.
  • Brent Magers, FACHE, FHFMA, CMPE, retired in December 2022 as executive associate dean of TTUHSC School of Medicine and CEO of Texas Tech Physicians.
  • Paul Uong, MD, (Resident ’09) joined the Internal Medicine department at Kaiser Permanente Honolulu Medical Office.
  • Jack Reynolds, MD, (’20) will join the Coleman Medical Associates and Coleman County Medical Center on a full-time basis in August 2023.
  • Michael Campbell, MD, (’96) joined Ouachita County Medical Center in Camden, Arkansas, to provide obstetrics and gynecology services.
  • Nadia Aurora, MD, (’18) joins Jersey City (New Jersey) Medical Center as a family planning, preventive care and laparoscopic surgery specialist.
  • Alan Kaye, MD, PHD, received the American Interventional Pain Physicians Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • Jasmin Aldridge, MD, (’19) joined Lake Norman Medical Group Family Medicine Tall Oaks in Mooresville, North Carolina.
  • Ellen Hampsten, MD, (’08) assistant professor of Family Medicine in Amarillo, named a Fellow with the American Academy of Family Physicians.
  • Josee Guindon, DVM, PhD, associate professor in the department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience, has been named a honoree by the International Cannabinoid Research Society.
  • Sharmila Dissanaike, MD, (Residency (’06) department of surgery chair, has been elected as the American Burn Association president for 2025.
(Sharmila Dissanaike, MD) is a strong educator and clinician serving the South Plains. We are proud that Dissanaike (is) appointed to this national role for her accomplishments as a front-running leader in surgery and burn care.
— Steven L. BERK, MD
dean, SCHOOL OF MEDICINE and Executive
vice president of Clincal affairs