UpdateNews & Notes

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Matthew Grisham, PhD, (’82)
will retire August 31, 2022, after serving since 2012 as chair of the TTUHSC Department of Immunology and Molecular Microbiology.

Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy

Levi Campbell, PharmD, (’16)
was named the 2021 TTUHSC Faculty Preceptor of the Year for the Amarillo campus.

Brent Dance, PharmD, (’06)
was named the 2021 TTUHSC Amarillo Adjunct Preceptor of the Year.

Lee Ann Hampton, PharmD, (’02)
was named the 2021 Texas Pharmacy Association Texas Pharmacist of the Year.

Mary Klein, PharmD, (’07)
received the 2021 Texas Pharmacy Association Distinguished Service Award.

Robert Martinez, second-year student,
was one of only 40 Texas pharmacy school students selected for Houston Methodist Hospital’s Power Week, a student observation program.

School of Health Professions

Jeramy Davies, MLS, (ASCP)CM, (’11)
joined Be the Match as a donor and collection experience specialist in Seattle, Washington.

Jordan Dutton, ATC, (’19)
was named a recipient of the 2021 East Coast Hockey League Athletic Trainer of the Year award.

April Hosley, DPT, (’11)
was named CEO of Trustpoint Hospital in Lubbock, Texas.

Clark Houser, CLS, (’04)
joined SSM Health as administrative director for Rural Health Development, a dual role position supporting a network of rural hospitals, and serves as CEO of Okeene Municipal Hospital in Okeene, Oklahoma.

Jared Oluwek, ATC, (’21)
joined the Arizona State University sports medicine staff in Tempe, Arizona.

Logan Price, AuD, (’13, ’09)
was named a 2021 Odessa Under 40 Honoree by the Young Professionals of Odessa, Texas.

School of Medicine

Corey Anderson, MD, (’94)
has been named to the iCRYO Medical Advisory Board.

Meagan Bailey, MD, (’11)
joined the New Hanover Regional Medical Center Physician Group-Neurology as a neurologist.

Haley Banks, MD, (Resident ’21, Medicine ’18)
joined Stephenville Medical and Surgical Clinic in Stephenville, Texas, as a family medicine physician.

James Cawley, MD, (’83)
joined Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital in Stephenville, Texas, as an OB-GYN.

James Early, MD, (’84)
retired June 10, 2021, after 30 years in family medicine private practice.

Michael Gardner, MD, (’85)
received the 2021 Clark County Medical Society’s President Award and the 2021 Southern Nevada Healthcare Hero Humanitarian Award.

Jessica Gray, MD, (Resident ’18, Medicine ’15)
was named to the 2021 Texas Monthly Magazine’s list of Texas Super Doctors Rising Stars.

The work of student leaders like Dulce Senclair underscores the need to address mental health during these challenging times, as well as the cricial role psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners play in bridging the gaps to access care.
Cindy Weston, DnP, APRN, FNP-BC
President, TExas Nurse Practitioners

Danielle Jones, MD, (’13)
a traveling OB-GYN, joined Southland Hospital in Ivercargill, New Zealand.

Winslo Idicula, MD, (’10)
was named to the 2021 Texas Monthly Magazine’s list of Texas Super Doctors Rising Stars.

Bradon Loya, MD, (Resident ’21, Medicine ’18)
joined Hendrick Medical Clinic in Brownwood, Texas.

Thusha Nathan, MD, (Fellow ’04)
joined National Park Medical Center South Central GI and South Central Endoscopy in Hot Springs, Arkansas.

Martin Ortega, MD, FAAFP, (Resident ’14, Medicine ’11)
assistant regional dean for TTUHSC at the Permian Basin School of Medicine Department of Medical Education, has been named interim regional chair for the medical school’s Department of Family and Community Medicine in the Permian Basin.

School of Nursing

Carol Boswell, EdD, RN, (’91, ’87)
professor in the TTUHSC School of Nursing, has been appointed to the Statewide Health Coordinating Council by Gov. Greg Abbott.

Bonnie Clipper, DNP, RN, FACHE, (’12)
has been inducted into the American Academy of Nursing’s 2021 Class of Fellows.

Rhonda Collins, DNP, RN, (’18, ’97)
was named the Women in IT Summit and Awards Series Outstanding Contributor of the Year.

Melissa De Los Santos, DNP, MSN, RN, (’11, ’09)
earned her doctorate of nursing practice in 2020 from the University of Texas at Tyler.

Valerie Kiper, DNP, RN, (’13)
has been named regional dean of the TTUHSC School of Nursing in Amarillo, Texas.

Sally Kipyego, BSN, RN, (’09)
qualified for the 2021 Olympic Games and placed 17th in the marathon event.

David Marshall, JD, DNP, RN, (’13)
has been named the James R. Klinenberg, MD, and Lynn Klinenberg Linkin Chair in Nursing for Cedars-Sinai in Los Angeles, California.

Inola Mello, DNP, (’11, ’87)
has been named director of the TTUHSC School of Nursing BSN to DNP program.

Chris Quiaoit, BSN, RN, (’20)
joined Medical City Plano as a critical care nurse in Plano, Texas.

Donna Scott-Tilley, PhD, MSN, (’97, ’91)
has been inducted into the American Academy of Nursing’s 2021 Class of Fellows.

Dulce Senclair, DNP, (’21)
received the 2021 Texas Nurse Practitioners’ Student Leadership Award.

Amanda Veesart, PhD, RN, (’11)
associate professor in the TTUHSC School of Nursing, received the Roberts Endowed Practiceship in Gerontological Nursing and the TTUHSC University Distinguished Faculty award.

Tiffani Wise, DNP, MSN, CNE, (’10, ’08)
has been named regional dean of the TTUHSC School of Nursing in Dallas, Texas.

Friends we’ll miss

Paul Brooke Jr., PhD,
TTUHSC School of Health Professions dean from 1998 to 2012, died Aug. 23, 2012.

Eugene Jean Dabezies, MD,
professor emeritus and former chairman of the TTUHSC School of Medicine Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, died Nov. 8, 2021.

Shahriar “Cy” Daneshfar, MD, (Medicine ’18)
a TTUHSC orthopedics resident, died Oct. 20, 2021.

Teresa Dickens, MD, (Medicine ’87)
died Sept. 5, 2021.

Arlen Edgar,
with the Abell-Hanger Foundation Inc., died June 15, 2021.

Ari Halldorsson, MD,
professor in the TUHSC Department of Surgery, died Dec. 10, 2021.

Charles E. Henry, EdD,
one of the founding faculty members of the TTUHSC School of Medicine, died Dec. 29, 2021.

Wendell Mayes Jr.,
Texas Tech University System regent from 1985 to 1991, died Sept. 12, 2021.

Sidney Paul Phillips, PharmD, (Pharmacy ’01)
died July 2, 2021.

Selene Rubio, BSN, RN,
A student in the School of Nursing Master of Science in Nursing Informatics Program, died Nov. 11, 2021.

William Rutherford, PharmD, (Pharmacy ’09)
died Nov. 5, 2021.

Helen Ann Becknell McCabe-Way,
with the H. Jerry McCabe, MD, School of Medicine Scholarship Endowment, died June 1, 2021.

a gift in memory of or to honor these TTUHSC alumni and friends.