UpdateNews & Notes

News & Notes

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Matthew Grisham, PhD, (’82)
was listed by Google Scholars as an H-Index 100, meaning that 100 of his publications have been cited at least 100 times.

Monish Makena, PhD, (’11)
has been awarded the 2020 AACR-AstraZeneca Breast Cancer Research Fellowship.

Sasanka Ramanadham, PhD, (’85)
was named a Featured Discovery recipient by the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Victoria C. Young,
PhD student in the molecular biophysics concentration, won a Student Research Achievement Award from the Biophysical Society.

The legend, Michael Owen, is officially retired. Cheers to the memories, the dedication to your practice and your patients, and the legacy you have left behind. Cheers to you, Dad!
Jennifer Owen, MD, (Medicine ’01)
Owen Health Group
School of Health Professions

Jackie Clark, DPT, (’17)
joined the Fremont Therapy Group in Green River, Wyoming.

Brant J. Danley, MPAS, PA-C, (’08)
joined U.S. Dermatology Partners in College Station, Texas.

Kelsi Mangrem, AuD, (’10)
received the 2021 Small Business Young Entrepreneur of the Year award by the Abilene Chamber of Commerce.

School of Medicine

Sharmila Dissanaike, MD, (Resident ’06)
chair of the Department of Surgery, was appointed to the Texas Medical Board District Three Review Committee.

Chris Gallagher, MD, (’05)
was elected to the Healthcare Industry Leaders board of directors.

Nagendra Gupta, MD, FACP, (Resident ’13)
received the 2020 Texas Health Arlington Memorial Hospital Dale Rank Physician Leadership Award.

Bernard Harris, MD, (’82)
was elected to Raytheon Technologies board of directors.

Dr. Anna Karamyan left an extra special mark. She walked into class on the first day of our first year in pharmacy school and already knew our names. It meant a lot to us that she wanted to know us before she even met us.
Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy
Class of 2021

Sameer Islam, MD, (’08)
was appointed as the chief of gastroenterology and director of the new Gastroenterology Fellowship Program at TTUHSC.

Richard Jordan, MD,
TTUHSC regional dean in Amarillo, received a 2021 Better Business Bureau Excellence in Community Service Award.

Scott Milton, MD, (’84, ’85)
associate professor, received a 2021 Better Business Bureau Excellence in Community Service Award.

Michael Owen, MD, (’77)
retired after 40 years of service to the Lubbock area in obstetrics and gynecology.

Bob Salem, MD, (’50)
received the 2021 Texas Tech University College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Alumni award.

Ariel Santos, MD, MPH,
associate professor in the Department of Surgery, received the Presidential Citation from the Society of Critical Care Medicine.

Amanda Stuelpnagle, MD, (Resident ’20)
joined CHI Health Clinic Women’s Health in Grand Island, Nebraska.

Ashley Sturgeon, MD, (’14, ’10)
received the 2021 C. Frank Webber, MD, Award for her commitment to mentoring medical students.

Lauren Swartz, MD, (Medicine ’15, Biomedical Sciences ’10)
joined Covenant Health Plainview, Texas.

Amy Thompson, MD, (Resident ’07, ’04)
was elected to the Lubbock Area United Way board of directors.

School of Nursing

Barbara Cherry, DNSc, RN, (’97)
professor, associate dean for strategic partnerships and chair of the Department of Leadership Studies, will retire from her full-time faculty position Aug. 31, 2021.

Brandon “Kit” Bredimus, DNP (’15)
was named to the “20 for 2020 Nurse Awards” by the Texas Nurses Association and Texas Nurses Foundation.

Morgan Gamble, BSN, RN, (’17)
was named 2021 Nurse of the Year by UMC Health System in Lubbock, Texas.

Amanda Griswold, (’20, ’17)
was named chief nursing officer at Bridgemoor Transitional Care in San Antonio, Texas.

Valerie Kiper, DNP, RN, (’13)
associate professor in the TTUHSC nontraditional nursing program, was awarded the 2020 Excellence in Leadership Award by the Texas Organization for Nursing Leadership board of directors.

Jeanette Vaughan, MSN, RN, (’92)
joined Louisiana State University Health Science Center as an instructor of nursing.

Amelia Yambrick Robles, BSN, RN, (’16)
was named 2021 Trauma/Surgical ICU Unit Nurse of the Year by UMC Health System in Lubbock, Texas.

Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy

Luke Barnett, PharmD, (’08)
joined BD(Pyxis) as a HealthSight clinical consultant.

Alicia Chavez and Alex Correa,
fourth-year and third-year pharmacy students got engaged May 14, 2021.

Anna Kochanowska Karamyan, PhD,
associate professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, received the 2021 Harrold Miller Most Influential Professor of the Year Award.

Sumeen Mirza, PharmD, (’21)
joined the University of Maryland Medical Center in Baltimore, Maryland, as a resident.

Jincy Varughese, PharmD, MBA, (’21)
joined The University of Kansas Health System in Kansas City, Kansas, as a resident.

Friends we’ll miss

Welda LaJean Chaffin, PhD,
professor-emeritus in the School of Medicine, died April 20, 2021.

T.H. Holmes Jr., MD,
professor in the TTUHSC School of Medicine, died March 18, 2021.

William “Ed” Richards, MD, (’92)
died Feb. 6, 2021. He was the medical director of the Nancy N. and J.C. Lewis Cancer & Research Pavilion and endowed chair of robotic surgery at St. Joseph’s/Candler Hospital in Savannah, Georgia.